Garden Mojitos (Part 1)

It’s been a busy week, and it’s going to get busier. My sister is getting married this weekend, which is exciting! But scrambling to take care of last-minute wedding preparations can be hectic, and it’s important to take time to relax when life gets hectic.

So I thought to myself, “What better way to relax than with an array of mojitos?”

And that’s exactly what I did. I experimented with a couple variations on the traditional mojito recipe, with mixed results. Elise was my personal photojournalist, and carefully documented each recipe. Without further ado, here they are.

Wal-Mart's contribution to our Midweek Mojito celebration

First of all, I wanted to try a traditional mojito with a twist–I simply replaced the mint leaves with lemon basil leaves from my garden. We planted some lemon basil this spring, and it is one of the strongest, best-smelling herbs I’ve ever grown. There are a number of things I’d like to make with it–flavored water, homemade essential oil, and pesto, to name a few. But a lemon basil mojito was at the top of my list. Here’s how it’s done:

Ingredients Needed

1 lime

1 tbsp. sugar

1 handful of lemon basil leaves

2 oz. light rum

3-4 oz. sparkling mineral water

(Instructions after the jump)

Step One: Cut a few sprigs of lemon basil from the garden. Then set them neatly in a pile on a pretty cutting board to be photgraphed.

Step Two: Quarter a lime and put half of it into a cocktail shaker.

Step Three: Toss most of the lemon basil into the shaker as well.

Step Four: Add sugar.

Step Five: Then I muddle it with a wooden pestle, making sure not to tear up the basil leaves too much (because what has two thumbs and does not want tiny pieces of basil floating in his drink? This guy!)

Step 6: Add 2 oz. of light rum.

 Give it all a good shake. Well, first put the lid on the shaker, then give it all a good shake. Pour the contents into a lowball glass (should fill the glass a little over half way). Top it off with a little Perrier, garnish with regular basil, and you have yourself a Lemon Basil Mojito!

Ta-da!

The result? A delicious, refreshing, citrus-y mojito. Vaguely reminiscent of Sprite, but with a kick, and a lot fresher-tasting. I missed the minty flavor of a traditional mojito, but made up for it with lemony freshness. I’d like to experiment with the recipe a little, maybe add some mint, or put more regular basil in to accentuate the basil and bring down the citrus flavor a bit.

Final grade = B+

4 comments

  1. Is “Elise carefully documented each recipe” a euphemism for saying that Elise drank a lot of mojitos! (on a work night, no less!)

  2. No comment. It wasn’t a work night for her, though!

  3. Crystal

    Just discovered mojitos a couple weeks ago, and I really liked it, so I’m looking forward to your experiments. We’ve got a lot of mint in the yard. Is lemon basil the same as lemon balm cause I have lots of that too?

    • I don’t know if they’re the same thing, but you can always try it out! If it smells good, it would probably taste good.

      However, that last line does not hold true for delicious-smelling shampoo.

Comments are closed.

