Garden Mojitos (Part 2)

So, a couple nights ago I experimented with a few mojito recipes using mint and two kinds of basil from my garden. The first experiment is well-documented here.

After I made the Lemon Basil Mojito, I decided to try a variation that I read about online.  It involved regular basil, black pepper, sugar, and lime. The ingredient list alone was enough to pique my interest and make me want to try it out. So that’s what I did, with my trusty sidekick, Chester the dog.

Ingredients Needed

1 lime

10 black peppercorns

1 tbsp. sugar

1 handful of basil leaves

2 oz. light rum

3-4 oz. sparkling mineral water

Step 1: Toss a handful of basil leaves, about 10 black peppercorns, and a tablespoon of sugar into a saucepan with 1 1/5 cups of water.

Step 2: Bring to a rapid boil, and stir until liquid thickens a bit.

Step 3: Strain into a glass. Don't use a washcloth to strain the mixture. I learned that the hard way--it made the mix smell terrible.

Step 4: What you end up with is this chamomile tea-looking liquid. It also smells like chamomile tea. And kind of tastes like it. I think I discovered the recipe for chamomile tea.

Throw two quarters of a lime into the cocktail shaker and muddle them with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the basil-pepper brew.

Step 6: Add 2 oz. of light rum, and shake it all about. After putting on the lid, of course.

Step 8: Pour over ice.

Step 9: Top it off with sparkling water!

Step 10: Add a few of the boiled basil leaves if you want, and garnish with fresh basil. Enjoy!

This recipe was, um…interesting. I’m not sure if I liked it or not. It tasted a lot like iced chamomile tea with a kick, which was not the spicy-sweet basil concoction I was expected. That said, it wasn’t bad, necessarily. It was just different. I think I’ll try it again, but make it more like a regular mojito (switching out the mint for basil) and leave out the black pepper. I like the idea of adding a little spice, but maybe cayenne pepper or ginger would be better suited for that.

Overall Grade = C

